Research

Databases A-Z

Our electronic services for locating individual articles in popular magazines and scholarly journals are all in this alphabetic list, as well as a few other information services. This list is for use when Research Guides are not available. Help is available at the Learning Commons Desk at 504-864-7111 or in person. Also see our Troubleshooting/FAQ page for assistance with common off-campus access problems. Research Guides are not listed here.

    A

  • Abstracts in Social Gerontology Provides citations to articles on business, international business, marketing, management, finance, nursing management, and related areas. Covers 1970 to present.
  • Academic Search Complete Find articles in all subject areas in over 17,000 journals and magazines, with full text for most. Updated daily. Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present.
  • AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog A searchable listing of films produced in the United States with selected films from 1893-1974 and all films from 1975 to present. Look for film title, character name, actor, songs, work based on and more. Includes AFI top films lists.
  • Agricola Search for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, agriculture, and related areas. Late 1700s to present.
  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information Patient Advisory Leaflets on a variety of medications and natural products. Also Spanish versions.
  • Alt HealthWatch Lists articles on non-traditional medical theories and therapies, such as complementary, holistic and integrated approaches. 1990 to present.
  • America's News Search or browse for full text of newspapers from all 50 U.S. states and Puerto Rico. Includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune. Also includes some non-newspaper sources. Dates vary.
  • America: History & Life with Full Text Citations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers publications from 1964 to present. Full text for over 1300 titles.
  • American Chemical Society web journals Searchable full text of most ACS journals. Covers all years for journals included.
  • American FactFinder U.S. Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic and geographic data and maps from the 2000 U.S. census of individuals.
  • American Law Institute Publications Featuring Codifications, Proceedings, Reports, other Special Publications and Restatements published by the American Law Institute. Includes Model Penal Code and the Restatements.
  • Année Philologique Index to publications on the Classical world. Covers 1924-2011. List of journal abbreviations.
  • Annual Reviews Full text of review articles in the sciences and social sciences. We have many, but not all years of all titles.
  • Art Full Text Full text plus abstracts and indexing of international art journals, with listings of reproductions of works of art. Covers publications 1984 to present (abstracts 1994-present, full text 1997-present).
  • Art Retrospective Search for articles in an international array of peer-selected art publications. (For newer articles, see Art Full Text.) Covers publications from 1929 to 1984.
  • ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) Find articles on modern and contemporary art. Covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records. Covers 1974 - present.
  • Arts & Humanities Database‎ Locate articles on art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre and cultural studies. Covers 2008 to present.
  • ARTstor A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide from prehistory to the 20th century.
  • arXiv Open access to nearly one million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS) Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion published between 1949 and the present.
  • Back to top

    B

  • Bayou State Periodical Index Indexes magazines published in and about Louisiana. Covers 1958 to present.
  • Ben Jonson Online Works major and minor of the English renaissance writer Ben Jonson (1572-1637) in full text, with both contemporary and modern spelling. Many additional essays and reference material, including a play performance archive. From Cambridge University Press. Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online.
  • Bible Odyssey A project from the National Endowment of the Humanities and the Society of Biblical Literature with essays and images on Bible topics. Includes the full New Revised Standard Version, the Contemporary English Version, and the King James Version.
  • Biography in Context Locate full-text biographies from reference books, citations to magazine and journal articles, and selected web sites. Dates vary.
  • Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) Search international biological science journals. Covers 1984 to 2009.
  • BioOne.1 Provides the full text of high impact, peer-reviewed English-language bioscience journals and bulletins published by societies and non-commercial publishers. Covers 2000 to present.
  • bioRxiv A free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
  • Bloomberg BNA Tax & Accounting Center The Bloomberg/BNA Tax & Accounting Center is a specialized legal research portal for tax professionals that bundles together all of BNA's tax resources, such as the Daily Tax Report and the Tax Management Portfolios, and provides access to the Internal Revenue Code, Treasury Regulations, and federal tax cases. Provided by the Loyola Law School Library.
  • Book Collection: Nonfiction Full text of over 3500 nonfiction books aimed at school and public library users. Dates vary.
  • Business Source Complete Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports. Coverage varies, as early as 1886 to present.
  • Back to top

    C

  • Cambridge Companions Online Collection of basic e-books in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, culture and music. Browse and search titles 1991 to present from Cambridge University Press.
  • Catalog of U.S. Government Publications Search and retrieval service that links to Federal agency online resources or identifies government publications distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. As some government documents are printed in various languages, some non-English language materials may be represented in the catalog. Covers 1994 to present.
  • Catholic News Archive Searchable full text of seven publications, including the Clarion Herald from New Orleans. Over 2000 articles and 46,000 pages. From the Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA). Dates vary, mostly 1960s.
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index Citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal and church documents, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. Covers 1988 to present.
  • Catholic Portal "The Catholic Portal provides access to and discovery of rare, unique, and uncommon Catholic scholarly resources via robust search and display tools." Many items are available in full text or page image, but many are not.
  • CheckPoint Catalyst CheckPoint Catalyst is an integrated set of tax research tools and resources used by tax attorney and other professionals It provides primary tax resources for both federal and state jurisdictions, as well as treatises and other secondary resources from publishers such as Research Institute of America (RIA) and Warren, Gorham & Lamont. Provided by the Loyola Law School Library.
  • ChemIDplus Search name, formula, registry number and more to get physical properties, toxicity, etc. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
  • Chicago Defender Historic African-American newspaper for 1909-1975 for primary coverage of civil rights movement and more.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education Full text of the prestigious weekly news magazine of higher education. Includes 1995 to present.
  • Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1860-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes Louisiana papers.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text Provides citations to most English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. Also covers consumer health, health sciences librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature. Covers 1982 to present.
  • CIS Congressional Universe Congressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. Courtesy Law Library.
  • City and County Data Book U.S. government compilation of statistics on all U.S. counties and parishes, cities with more than 25,000 inhabitants, and places with more than 2500 inhabitants.
  • Classical Music Library Primarily classical online streaming music. Browse or search by composer, artist, instrument, category, etc. All recordings available in full.
  • Also called "Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews." Browse or search for full-text reviews of treatment based on medical research. Also called evidence-based medicine. Current articles.
  • Collins C. Diboll Vieux Carré Digital Survey "...An extensive study of the [real estate] properties within the French Quarter referencing essential historical, architectural, legal and sociological data on individual lots and structures from the French colonial period to the present."
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete Full text and indexing for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, discourse, rhetoric, sociolinguistics, communication theory, language, logic, organizational communication and more. Also includes author profiles. Dates of coverage vary, 1915-present.
  • Computer Source Search popular and scholarly journals in fields such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. Varies, some as far back as 1985 to present.
  • Congressional Basic Congressional information, including hearings and reports, is available in full text; the Serial Set goes all the way back to 1789. This is an excellent resource for compiling federal legislative histories or for researching the changes and attempted changes in federal laws. Courtesy of the Law Library.
  • CQ Researcher Explores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology. 1991 to present.
  • Credo Online Reference Service Search or browse for facts and information across over 750 full-text encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, bilingual dictionaries and more.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text Provides coverage of major English-language criminology journals and books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. A summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Covers 1968 to present.
  • Back to top

    D

  • Data Center (The Data Center) An independent non-profit organization that collects, analyzes and publishes demographic, economic and related data about Southeast Louisiana, including the Greater New Orleans area.
  • Design & Applied Arts Index A source of information for all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
  • Digital Sanborn Maps Images of street maps from selected Louisiana cities, including New Orleans, from 1867 to 1970.
  • Digital Scriptorium Images of mediaeval and renaissance manuscripts.
  • Diotima This free web-based database provides access to a variety of materials on the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals An index to and list of free journals worldwide.
  • Dissertation Abstracts Online Now called ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
  • Drama Online Play scripts and writing about drama from Aeschylus to the present day.
  • Back to top

    E

  • eBook Collection Read over 35,000 full-text e-books in all subject areas. Before downloading, install Adobe Digital Editions.
  • Ecolex Source for environmental law. Available on the database are international treaties, national legislation from countries around the world, court decisions, and legal and policy literature.
  • EconLit The American Economic Association electronic database listing journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature: 1969 to present.
  • Educational Administration Abstracts Covers publications on educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research and other related areas back to the mid-1970s.
  • Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice Full-text encyclopedia devoted to social activism published in 2007.
  • Encyclopedia of Life Free encyclopedia of organisms, with general and scientific information on taxonomy, distribution, genetics, evolutionary history, and more.
  • Encyclopedia of Political Science Search or browse the full text of a multi-volume, multi-authored encyclopedia. Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association. Note: uses popups. Published 2011.
  • Environment Index Locate articles on environmental issues and policy in over 1000 international journals. Dates vary, mostly early twentieth century to present.
  • ERIC Journal and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, and other documents about education. Some non-English material. Covers 1966 to present.
  • ERIC (US Dept. Education) Search for educational publications or subject headings on education topics. Can limit to peer-reviewed publications and to full text.
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 A listing of materials published in Europe about the Americas from 1493 to 1750. Mostly rare books published in languages other than English. Publications from 1493 to 1750.
  • Back to top

    F

  • Family Studies Abstracts This database covers publications related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy and other related topics starting in the mid-1980s.
  • Federal Digital System Federal Digital System, formerly GPO Access, is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal government.
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index A searchable index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI. Covers 1992 to present.
  • FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Index to scholarly and popular film studies journals and magazines. Also full text of The Encyclopedia of Early Cinema (Routledge, 2004), Routledge Companion to Film History (Routledge, 2010), Oxford History of World Cinema (OUP, 1997), Critical Ideas in Television Studies (OUP, 1999), and Film Analysis: A Norton Reader (Norton, 2005). There is also a list of silent-era films.
  • Film Index International (FII) Search for information on and articles about films from around the world from the silent era to today. Each entry for individual or film has a list of magazine and journal articles. Film titles and individuals are linked to their entries.
  • FindLaw FindLaw offers links to legal, business and consumer resources. Find case law, Supreme Court decisions and links to legal associations.
  • FirstGov The official U.S. Government portal to 30 million pages of government information, services, and online transactions.
  • Freedom Archives Audio recordings, text and other historical documents on progressive history in the U.S. and internationally.
  • Fuente Académica Spanish-language scholarly articles from 200 Latin American and Spanish journals. Dates not given.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia A general-interest encyclopedia with over 25,000 articles on all subjects, some biographical information. Updated annually.
  • Back to top

    G

  • Gale Primary Sources Historical publications: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, and the Times (of London) newspaper 1785-2011. (Also available individually.) Slavery and Anti-Slavery will become part of this service later this year and must be searched separately.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library A collection of over 200 reference books (over 600 volumes) in all subject areas published 1990 to present.
  • GeoRef Find scholarly articles, meeting papers, maps, theses, dissertations and books in geoscience; some non-English-language material. Covers North America since 1785; other areas of the world since 1933.
  • Google Cultural Institute Photographs of art works, buildings, historical events, and from Life magazine.
  • Google News Archive Search for news stories in newspapers from around the world from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
  • Google Scholar Find scholarly articles, meeting papers, and books. Look for the Full Text Finder links to full text and other services. More at the Google Scholar guide.
  • GreenFILE Locate general interest, research, and government publications about human impact on the environment. Early 1900s to present.
  • Grove Dictionary of American Music Second edition of the multivolume encyclopedia of American popular and serious music, including musical theater and opera, concert music, music technology, dance, performers, composers, audiences, jazz, musical instruments, and music education. Library purchase with a gift from Lester and Gloria Kabakoff.
  • Back to top

    H

  • Handbook of Latin American Studies A bibliography on Latin America of works selected and annotated by scholars alternating annually between the social sciences and the humanities. From 1936 to present.
  • HarpWeek Browsable and searchable full text and images of the magazine Harper's Weekly for 1857 through 1877.
  • HathiTrust "HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of [book] titles digitized from libraries around the world."
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Find articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full text for nearly 600. Info on U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs Updated daily. Dates vary, some as far back as 1975 to present.
  • HeinOnline Browse and search for articles in law reviews, criminal justice periodicals, the Federal Register, federal legislative history, presidential publications, US statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. (Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.) Dates vary. Courtesy of the Law Library.
  • History Reference Center Articles on history from over reference books, encyclopedias and other books, history magazines, historical documents, biographies, and historical photographs and maps. Dates of coverage vary.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) From FEMA and the US Navy Postgraduate School. Focuses on open source publications from the United States government. Featured topics range from climate change to gangs to hurricanes to school violence.
  • Hospitality & Tourism Index Industry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines. Dates vary, some as far back as 1950 to present.
  • Human Resources Abstracts Locate articles on human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas from 1975 to the present.
  • Back to top

    I

  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews which appear in nearly 540 legal journals published worldwide. Courtesy of the Law School Library.
  • Information Science & Technology Abstracts Covers more than 450 information science journals, books, research reports and other publications. Varies, some as far back as 1960 to present.
  • IntelliConnect The IntelliConnect legal research platform provides users with access to all our CCH/Wolters Kluwer legal resources, including the CCH OmniTax Library, with its collection of state and federal tax materials. Provided by the Loyola Law School Library.
  • International Bibliography of Art (IBA)‎ Locate scholarly literature on Western art. Successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
  • Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy A peer-reviewed resource which "provide[s] open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy." Incomplete.
  • Internet Movie Database Searchable listing of films worldwide with actor and production credits and additional information. Includes made-for-television films.
  • IPA Source Collection of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
  • Back to top

    J

  • Jazz Music Library Over 60,000 streaming classic, contemporary, Latin and popular jazz recordings. Liner notes in PDF. Recordings issued 1923 to present.
  • Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database Evidence-based health care information with bibliographies.
  • JSTOR Full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We have Arts & Sciences I through X and Life Sciences. JSTOR has the beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago. How-to videos.
  • Back to top

    K

  • KnowLA: Digital Encyclopedia of Louisiana History and Culture Peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on Louisiana by recognized experts. A project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities.
  • Back to top

    L

  • Learning Express Library 3 Practice tests and ebooks for improving performance on academic and professional tests. Includes practice exams for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and TOEFL. Also mathematics, reading, and other skill improvement tutorials. Requires registration.
  • Legal Collection Search for articles in scholarly law journals. Years vary, as far back as 1965 to present.
  • LexisNexis Academic A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles. Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s.
  • Library of Congress Catalog The online catalog of the Library of Congress, listing millions of books, past and present.
  • Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Full Text Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings published 1966 to present.
  • Literary Reference Center Research authors of literature and their works in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels.
  • Literature Resource Center Full text and citations to magazine and journal articles on authors, literature, literary movements, etc.
  • Local Market Audience Analyst Now Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions. The online equivalent of the Lifestyle Market Planner, with marketing and demographic data. Click 'Log into Nielsen SMS.' (Currently unavailable off campus.)
  • Loeb Classical Library A library of classical Latin and Greek texts with adjacent English translations. Based on the book series, most of which are in our print collection. Perpetual access provided through the Bienvenue Endowment.
  • Los Angeles Times Searchable full text of the daily newspaper beginning in 1985 to the present.
  • Louisiana Newspaper Access Program Digital versions of Louisiana newspapers, as early as 1794 and as late as 1949.
  • Loyola electronic theses The electronic theses collection consists of theses from Loyola graduate and undergraduate students dating back to 1958. Some items are restricted for use to on-campus Loyola users.
  • Loyola University Bulletins The Loyola Bulletins act as course catalogs for the university.
  • Loyola University Law School Catalog The online catalog of the Loyola University New Orleans School of Law Library. It lists the library's books and journals.
  • lynda.com. Over two thousand computer training videos on audio, business, CAD, design, photography, video, and the web. It is available in Monroe Library Room 109. The key for this room can be checked out at the Learning Commons Desk on the first floor or reserved in advance by contacting Jason Ezell at 504-864-7138 or jezell@loyno.edu. Louisiana public library library card holders can also use it online.
  • Back to top

    M

  • Making of America - Cornell This opens a pop-up window to share the URL for this database Full text of books and journals published in the U.S. from the antebellum period through reconstruction. (The Cornell and Michigan sites are different.)
  • Making of America - Michigan Full text of books and journals published in the U.S. from the antebellum period through reconstruction. (The Cornell and Michigan sites are different.)
  • Market Share Reporter The Market Share Reporter lists amount of market for sales of many primarily consumer products. Part of the Gale Directory Library and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
  • Maroon campus newspaper The Maroon, the student newspaper of Loyola University New Orleans, has been published since 1923. The Maroon covers student life, campus activities, cultural and athletic events, Loyola University New Orleans administration, faculty and staff, and other features.
  • MAS Ultra (School Edition) Searchable full text of about 500 high school level magazines and journals, pamphlets and reference books. Includes images like maps and flags. Dates vary, 1975 to present for some titles.
  • MathSciNet Provides bibliographical access to the world's mathematical literature. Includes some non-English language material for publications from 1940 to present.
  • MediaMark (see MRI+) MRI+ is the online version of MediaMark Reports, the business demographic information service. Note: You must create an account while on campus using a registration code, your Loyola e-mail and any password before using. Upper and lower case are different, so please remember which you use. Ask for the registration code at the Learning Commons Desk. 1963 to present.
  • MedicLatina Over 100 Spanish-language medical journals.
  • Medline Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material. 1966 to present.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided. 1989 to present.
  • Military & Government Collection Search for full text articles in about 300 magazines and journals and 245 pamphlets about the government and military. Dates vary, most mid 1990s to present.
  • MLA International Bibliography The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material. 1926 to present.
  • MRI+ (MediaMark Online) MRI+ is the online version of MediaMark Reports, the business demographic information service. Note: You must create an account while on campus using a registration code, your Loyola e-mail and any password before using. Upper and lower case are different, so please remember which you use. Ask for the registration code at the Learning Commons Desk. 1963 to present.
  • Music Periodicals Database Formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP). Indexes more than 370 international music periodicals. Also includes retrospective coverage from over 185 periodicals as far back as 1874. Scholarly and popular articles. Includes indexing to non-English language publications. Note: Mac users: change PDF file names to remove the '.do' at the end to save articles.
  • Musical Theater Songs Search for individual songs in musicals by voice type, character's age, and tempo, and select whether comedic or dramatic. Additional searching by composer, lyricist and more. Actual scores are generally not included.
  • Back to top

    N

  • National Criminal Justice Reference System (NCJRS) Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, crime prevention, criminology, drugs and crime, juveniles, law enforcement, statistics, technology, and victims of crime. Documents must either be written in English or have an English-language summary.
  • National Newspapers Core Searchable daily national newspapers with full text: New York Times (including Book Review and Magazine), Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal and Christian Science Monitor. Mid-1980s to present.
  • Nature Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal from its beginning to the present day, 1869 to present.
  • Naxos Music Library Search for, browse among and listen to classical, jazz and other musical recordings. Date range does not apply. All recordings available in full.
  • New Catholic Encyclopedia The full text of the 15-volume New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. 2003 edition plus several updates.
  • New Orleans Times-Picayune 1837-1988 Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
  • New Orleans Times-Picayune 1989 - present Search or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
  • New York Times Searchable full text of the daily newspaper. 1980 to present.
  • New York Times (Historical) Article and page images of every issue of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 through 2010.
  • Newspaper Source Selected full text of 30 national and international newspapers, over 200 regional U.S. papers, and television and radio news transcripts, updated daily. Does not include the New Orleans newspapers.
  • Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions Formerly Local Market Audience Analyst, the online equivalent of the Lifestyle Market Planner, with marketing and demographic data. Click 'Log into Nielsen SMS.' (Currently unavailable off campus.)
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Collection of newspapers from the United States and its territories published between 1800 and 1899. Not every issue of every newspaper is available. Can search the entire collection at once; advanced search focuses by individual paper, type of article, and publication dates.
  • Back to top

    O

  • OCLC WorldCat Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
  • Online catalog The library’s online catalog contains information about the books, e-books, music scores, videos (both DVD and VHS), and sound recordings that the library owns. The catalog also contains detailed information about the print journal and magazine titles that the library owns, but it does not contain citations for individual articles. For more help in using the catalog, ask a librarian, review our FAQs.
  • Ovid Nursing Journals Search or browse sixty-one full-text nursing journals. Full Text Finder finds all of these in CINAHL, etc.
  • Oxford Art Online Visual art encyclopedia online with over 45,000 articles includes bibliographies and links to many images. Consists of the Grove Dictionary of Art, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Formerly Grove Art Online.
  • Oxford Biblical Studies Online Browse and search a collection of reference materials on the Bible and its world, including archaeology, arts, literature, geography, history, law, politics, material culture, science and more. Includes a Bible verse lookup and other tools.
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED) The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from international English language sources.
  • Oxford Music Online Music encyclopedia with the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, and the Oxford Companion to Music. Formerly Grove Music Online.
  • Oxford Reference Search for entries in several Oxford University Press dictionaries and encyclopedias.
  • Back to top

    P

  • Peace Research Abstracts Peace Research Abstracts lists articles related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of relevance to the field dating back to 1964.
  • Performing Arts Periodicals Database Locate articles on the performing arts: drama, theater, dance, film, and television from over 250 magazines and journals. Covers 1998 to present. Formerly: International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA FT).
  • Philosopher's Index The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals in all areas of philosophy from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
  • PollStar Pro. News, columns, charts, boxoffice, tour & concert bookings, and more information on the music industry. Login by reference librarian required. Please come to the front desk for assistance with electronic version. Dates vary, archives from 2000.
  • Primary Search Searchable full text from more than 60 magazines for elementary-school-aged children with articles listed without text for another 30 titles. Also includes pamphlets and some reference. Dates vary, 1990s to present.
  • Professional Development Collection Nearly 550 professional education journals and many reports. Varies, some as early as 1965.
  • Project MUSE Standard Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title. Mostly 1993 to present. How-to videos.
  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citations to all U.S. doctoral dissertations and some masters theses on all topics. Abstracts can be found for dissertations since 1980. (Formerly called Dissertation Abstracts International.) 1861 to present.
  • PsycARTICLES Full text articles in psychology. PsycARTICLES includes more than 39,000 full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. 1985 to present.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Search almost 575 professional psychology journals, most peer-reviewed. Nearly all are indexed in PsycINFO. Varies, some as early as 1965.
  • PsycINFO Citations and abstracts for articles, book chapters, books and dissertations on psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material. Covers 1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books. APA help.
  • Public Administration Abstracts Providing citations covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel and theory and methods back to 1974.
  • PubMed Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material.
  • PubMed with Full Text Finder PubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine, with 11 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals in anatomy, nursing, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, health care and more. Includes some non-English language material. Note: PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. 1966 to present.
  • Back to top

    Q

  • QuickSearch All-in-one search that includes our books, scores, CDs, DVDs, archival material, and millions of magazine, newspaper and journal articles.
  • Back to top

    R

  • Race Relations Abstracts This resource provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. Specific areas covered include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas. 1975 to present.
  • Readers Guide Retrospective Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics. Covers 1890 to 1982.
  • Referencia Latina This database offers sources including encyclopedia entries, articles from ten Spanish-language newspapers, images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas, and Spanish-language scholarships inside and outside academia.
  • Regional Business News Full text articles from 75 business publications from around the country. Includes New Orleans CityBusiness. Updated daily. Dates vary, mostly mid-1990s to present.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, as far back as 1975 to present.
  • RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature Provides citations and abstracts to articles, dissertations and books on music. Includes some non-English language material. 1967 to present.
  • Back to top

    S

  • SAGE Knowledge Ebook Collection A collection of ebooks in the social sciences (business, counseling, criminology, education, health care, media and communication, political science, and psychology). It is available through Affordable Learning Louisiana.
  • Sage Reference Online Full text of six specialized online encyclopedias.
  • Sanborn Digital Maps Images of street maps from selected Louisiana cities from 1867 to 1970. Includes New Orleans.
  • Science Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal. Jan. 3, 1997 (vol. 275, no. 5296) to present here. All back issues in JSTOR.
  • Science and Technology Collection Indexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for over 800. Dates vary, as early as 1904.
  • ScienceDirect Recent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals. 1995 to present.
  • SciFinder Academic Search the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page and only on campus.) Covers 1962 to present.
  • Screen Studies Collection‎ This collection includes FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International, which are all available individually, too. Includes 1893 to present.
  • Scribner Writers Series Provides articles on more than 1600 authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.
  • Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law English legal history beginning with 1066 C.E.
  • Serials Directory Descriptions of over 180,000 U.S. and international serials. (Serial is library jargon for anything that appears at regular intervals with no end in sight, like newspapers, magazines, journals, and some book series.)
  • Shock & Vibration Digest This database provides wide-ranging content, including full-text records covering essential areas related to shock and vibration. Topics include noise, vibration technologies, seismology, experimental mechanics, engineering, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline of shock and vibration. Coverage back to 1969.
  • Slavery And Anti-Slavery An international archive of over 5 million pages from books, magazines, manuscripts, court records, and reference materials on slavery, the anti-slavery movement, and emancipation. Each of the four parts can be searches separately. Covers the United States, Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Off-campus access not yet available.
  • Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law Primary documents and writing on pre-20th Century slavery, primarily in the United States. Includes periodicals, statutes, court cases, articles, University of North Carolina Press books, and a bibliography. Made public for the general good by Hein Online.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles. Varies, some as early as 1895.
  • Springer e-books A collection of full-text science, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, engineering, and technology electronic books published by Springer during 2006 through 2009. Look for the green book symbol for those we can use. Note: if you search 'Within All Content' you will encounter numerous books and journals that we do not receive.
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy An encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by experts and available to everyone. Not complete.
  • Statistical Abstracts of the United States Listing of available volumes of the U.S. Census Bureau's Statistical Abstract of the United States, from 1879 to 2012, when it ceased publication. Each is divided into sections, like Health and Nutrition, Transportation, and Elections. Each individual table can be downloaded in Excel format or the entire section in PDF. Also consider using the American Fact Finder.
  • Supreme Court Insight Supreme Court Insight, 1975-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.
  • Back to top

    T

  • Teacher Reference Center Search 280 popular teacher and school administrator magazines and journals 1984 to present.
  • Times (of London) Digital Archive 1785-2011 The Times (of London) newspaper in full page image from 1785 through 2011. Advanced search to limit by type of article.
  • Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1837-1988 Locate articles in the New Orleans Times-Picayune newspaper by word or date for 1837 through 1988.
  • Times-Picayune [New Orleans] 1989 - present Search or browse for full text of the New Orleans daily newspaper, the Times-Picayune. Part of America's News. 1989 to present.
  • Twayne's Author Series Full text books on literary authors, browsable by author name, genre, gender, time period and nationality.
  • Back to top

    U

  • U.S. Congressional Documents Includes Congressional Record, Congressional Record Daily, Journals of the Continental Congress, Annals of the Congress of the United States, Journals of the Continental Congress and more.
  • Umbra Search - African American History Over half a million archival items on African-American history from over a thousand libraries and archives.
  • UpToDate Clinical decision support system for nurses, physicians and other health care personnel.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts Includes citations on publications covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other areas of key relevance to the discipline back to 1973.
  • Back to top

    V

  • Vente et Gestion Search for French-language business and related articles. Formerly known as French Business Source.
  • Violence & Abuse Abstracts Lists articles on family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline from 1995 to the present.
  • Back to top

    W

  • Wall Street Journal Searchable full text of the daily newspaper for 1984 to present.
  • Washington Post Searchable full text of the daily newspaper from 1988 to present.
  • Wolf yearbook The Wolf, the yearbook of Loyola University, has been published since 1924. The yearbooks contain invaluable information about student life, classes, and faculty. The Wolf Yearbooks were digitized by the LYRASIS Mass Digitization Collaborative with funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
  • WorldCat Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
  • Back to top

    Z

  • Zotero A free citation management system, use with your browser to track citations and create bibliographies. Requires registration.
  • Back to top