Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Trish Nugent
- 504-864-7092
- panugent@loyno.edu
Trish is available to answer your questions about library research in Women's Studies.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Women's Studies
The databases below are ones we recommend for Women's Studies. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Women's Studies, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 5300. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
SocINDEX with Full Text

Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles.
Varies, some as early as 1895 |

-
MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records with abstracts related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material.
1926 to present |

-
Diotima
This free web-based database provides access to a variety of materials on the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
Dates vary |

-
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
A searchable index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.
1992 to present |

-
Women Working, 1870 - 1930

"This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. . . The collection will contain more than 2,200 books and pamphlets, 1,000 photographs and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections."
1870-1930 |
