Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Laurie Phillips
- 504-864-7833
- phillips@loyno.edu
- Chat with Laurie
For help with research in Visual Arts, contact Laurie.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Visual Arts
For basic information about artists, terms and movements, use Grove Art Online or search the Art & Architecture section of Oxford Reference Online Premium. To search for images, use ARTstor either to find known artists or works, or use advanced searching to discover new artists. To find journal articles, use Art Abstracts or Academic Search Complete and to find books, use the library's catalog. To find reviews of artists' shows, search the library's newspaper databases.
-
Oxford Art Online

Visual art encyclopedia online with over 45,000 articles includes bibliographies and links to many images. Consists of the Grove Dictionary of Art, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art Formerly Grove Art Online.
Updated quarterly |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Art Abstracts

Locate information on visual arts and crafts, photography, archaeology, architecture, art history, and related areas in magazines and journals.
September 1984 to present |

-
Digital Scriptorium

Images of mediaeval and renaissance manuscripts.
Dates vary |

-
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Search for entries in many Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference books, including foreign language dictionaries.
Dates vary |
