Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Teri Gallaway
- 504-864-7838
- gallaway@loyno.edu
- Chat with Teri
Teri is available to answer your questions about library research in Sociology.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Sociology
The databases below are ones we recommend for Sociology. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Sociology, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
SocINDEX with Full Text

Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles.
Varies, some as early as 1895 |

-
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Search and browse a multi-volume sociology encyclopedia.
Current material (updated three times a year) |

-
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Full-text encyclopedia devoted to social activism.
Published 2007 |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
Columbia Earthscape

An interdisciplinary resource on earth and environmental sciences and their economic, political, social, and public policy dimensions. [Note: This product will be discontinued June 30, 2009.]
Dates vary |

-
Environment Index

Locate articles on environmental issues and policy in over 1000 international journals.
Varies, 1950s to present |

-
Population Index
Search or browse an annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
1986 to 2000 |

-
U.S. Census Bureau

Text, maps and statistical information on the U.S. population of people and businesses.
Varies |

-
American FactFinder
U.S. Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic and geographic data and maps from the 2000 U.S. census of individuals.
2000 |

-
Readers Guide Retrospective

Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics.
1890 to 1982 |

-
Research Starters - Sociology

Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts..
Updated |
