Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Brian Sullivan
- 504-864-7129
- sullivan@loyno.edu
Brian is available to answer your questions about library research in Religious Studies.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Religious Studies
To find information on Catholicism, use the New Catholic Encyclopedia and Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. ATLA, ProQuest Religion, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and ProjectMuse are excellent resources for theological research. If you need religious images, search ARTstor. Information on ethics is available in most of the databases below, and the databases listed under Philosophy may also be helpful.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal and church documents, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
1988 to present |

-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)

Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
1949 to present |

-
ProQuest Religion

Search magazines and scholarly journals on religion. (Formerly called Religious Periodicals.)
1986 to present |

-
Religion and Philosophy Collection

This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
Varies, as far back as 1975 to present |

-
New Catholic Encyclopedia

The full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
2003 |

-
Unbound Bible

A collection of ten English-language Bibles, as well as Greek, Hebrew, and other languages. Also includes some reference tools, like a Bible dictionary and a commentary.
Does not apply |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
Diotima
This free web-based database provides access to a variety of materials on the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
Dates vary |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
RAMBI (Index of Articles on Jewish Studies)

A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies from The Jewish National and University Library. Covers material in English, Yiddish and Hebrew. Hebrew searching available.
1966 to present |
