Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Mary Lee Sweat
- 504-864-7047
- sweat@loyno.edu
Mary Lee is available to answer your questions about library research in Psychology + Counseling.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Psychology + Counseling
Academic Search Complete is a general database and a good source of articles on current topics in psychology and counseling. PsycINFO covers journal articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations, and contains some full-text. PsycARTICLES and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection are excellent sources of peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly articles in psychology, counseling, and related social sciences. For information on tests, see Mental Measurements Yearbook, while SocINDEX with Full Text can provide useful information from a sociological perspective. For bibliographic information from a health sciences perspective, see MEDLINE.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
PsycINFO

Provides citations and abstracts to articles, book chapters and books on subjects relating to psychology. Also provides citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material.
1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books |

-
PsycARTICLES

Full text articles in psychology. PsycARTICLES includes more than 39,000 full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
1985 to present |

-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Search almost 575 professional psychology journals, most peer-reviewed. Nearly all are indexed in PsycINFO.
Varies, some as early as 1965 |

-
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided.
1989 to present |

-
MEDLINE
Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material.
The Monroe Library offers two different versions of the MEDLINE service. Both contain the same information but differ in search functions.
-
MEDLINE (from EBSCOhost)

1966 to present |

-
PubMed

PubMed is a free public service of the National Library of Medicine. Use this link to add Get it!.
1966 to present |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
ERIC

Journal and magazine articles, dissertations and theses, and other documents about education. Some non-English material. Also U.S. DOE ERIC
.1966 to present |

-
SocINDEX with Full Text

Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles.
Varies, some as early as 1895 |

-
SPORTDiscus

A multi-language index to magazines, journals, some books and theses and dissertations on sport and fitness.
Varies, some as early as 1800 |

-
Annual Reviews

Full text of outstanding review articles in the sciences and social sciences.
1996 to present |

-
Springer e-books

A collection of full-text science, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, engineering, and technology electronic books published by Springer during 2006, 2007, and 2008. Look for the green book symbol for those we can use. Note: if you search "Within All Content" you will encounter numerous journals that we do not receive.
2006 to 2008 |
