Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Art Carpenter
- 504-864-7089
- acarpntr@loyno.edu
Art is available to answer your questions about library research in Political Science + Law.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Political Science & Law
The databases below are ones we recommend for Political Science & Law. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Political Science & Law, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 5300. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Provides articles, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and books on international relations, mostly 1990s to present.
Dates vary, mostly 1990s |

-
International Political Science Abstracts

Search for articles in leading international political science journals.
1951 to present |

-
Legal Collection

Search for articles in scholarly law journals.
Varies, as far back as 1965 to present |

-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
International Political Science Abstracts

Search for articles in leading international political science journals.
1951 to present |

-
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

Articles on law from law journals and reviews and other sources.
Indexing 1981 to present, full text access to some items published after 1995 |

-
CQ Researcher

Explores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology.
1991 to present |

-
Thomas

Thomas is a free service of the Library of Congress. Search Thomas to find legislative and congressional information. It includes bill text, the Congressional Record, committee information, votes, directories and other information. Current and historical information available.
-
GPO-Access
GPO Access is a service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to a wealth of important information products produced by the Federal government. The information provided on this site is the official, published version and the information retrieved from GPO Access can be used without restriction, unless specifically noted. This free service is funded by the Federal Depository Library Program and has grown out of Public Law 103-40, known as the Government Printing Office Electronic Information Enhancement Act of 1993. GPO Access links to popular publications, including:
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
- Code of Federal Regulations
- Federal Register
- Congressional Record
- U.S. Code
- Catalog of U.S. Gov't Publications
-
Firstgov
The official U.S. Government portal to 30 million pages of government information, services, and online transactions.
-
FindLaw
FindLaw is an excellent web site for students, lawyers, paralegals and the public. It offers links to legal, business and consumer resources. Find case law, Supreme Court decisions and links to legal associations. Checkout the related FindLaw Library, a full-text searchable listing of thousands of documents covering more than 200 law topics.
-
Loyola School of Law Library Online Catalog
-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
HeinOnline

Browse and search for articles in law reviews, criminal justice periodicals, the Federal Register, federal legislative history, presidential publications, US statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. (Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.)
Dates vary |

-
Readers Guide Retrospective

Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics.
1890 to 1982 |

-
America: History and Life

Citations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
1964 to present |
