Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Liz Cashman
- 504-864-7045
- cashman@loyno.edu
Liz is available to answer your questions about library research in Philosophy.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Philosophy
The Religion and Philosophy Collection, JSTOR, ProjectMuse, and Philosopher's Index are good sources for research on ethics, logic, epistemology, ancient philosophy, philosophy of religion, and more. REP Online and the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy are excellent resources for background information and learning what the key issues are for a given topic.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Philosopher's Index

Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books on philosophy and related fields. Includes some non-English language material.
1940 to present |

-
Religion and Philosophy Collection

This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
Varies, as far back as 1975 to present |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online

Provides over 2000 articles from leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover a breadth of subject matter, including ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Updated quarterly |

-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An encyclopedia of philosophy maintaned by experts and available to everyone. Not complete.
Current information |
