Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Ria Newhouse
- 504-864-7136
- email Ria
- Chat with Ria
Ria is available to answer your questions about library research in Nursing + Health.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Nursing + Health
To find information on your nurse theorist, search for the theorist's name in the Health Source and CINAHL databases. To find articles for your concept analysis assignment, search for your topic and concept analysis. For example, if your topic is compassion you will enter these words into the search box: compassion and concept analysis. And remember to search in other subjects databases when appropriate; for example, search the Business Source Complete database listed under Business when doing your finance assignments.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Find articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full text for nearly 600. Also a database of all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as far back as 1975 to present |

-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides citations to most English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. Also covers consumer health, health sciences librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature.
1982 to present |

-
MEDLINE
Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material.
The Monroe Library offers two different versions of the MEDLINE service. Both contain the same information but differ in search functions.
-
MEDLINE (from EBSCOhost)

1966 to present |

-
PubMed

PubMed is a free public service of the National Library of Medicine. Use this link to add Get it!.
1966 to present |

-
-
Medline journal abbreviation decoder (a Medline tool)
Medline/PubMed displays journal names in an abbreviated form. Search the abbreviation on this page to find the complete journal title. Note: This is not an index to journal articles.
-
Alt HealthWatch

Lists articles on non-traditional medical theories and therapies, such as complementary, holistic and integrated approaches.
1990 to present |

-
MedicLatina

Over 100 Spanish-language medical journals.
Varies |

-
Lexi-PALS Drug Guide

Patient Advisory Leaflets on a variety of medications and natural products. Also Spanish versions.
Current |

-
Science and Technology Collection

Indexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for 800.
Dates not given |

-
SPORTDiscus

A multi-language index to magazines, journals, some books and theses and dissertations on sport and fitness.
Varies, some as early as 1800 |

-
Merck Index

Library purchase in memory of Dr. Anthony DiMaggio, late professor and former chair of the Department of Chemistry.
Chemical encyclopedia with brief entries on thousands of chemical substances including physical properties.
Current information |

-
ScienceDirect College Edition

Recent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals.
1995 to present |

-
AgeLine

Search for journal articles and books on the subject of aging and middle-aged and older adults, particularly addressing the social, psychological, economic, policy, and health care aspects of aging. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP).
Dates not disclosed |

-
TOXLINE
Look for publications on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
1965 to present |
