Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Alicia Hansen
- 504-864-7118
- ahansen@loyno.edu
Alicia is available to answer your questions about library research in Music.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Music
The databases below are ones we recommend for Music. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Music, search the library's catalog.
-
Oxford Music Online

Music encyclopedia with the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, and the Oxford Companion of Music. Formerly Grove Music Online.
Updated quarterly |

-
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP FT)

Indexes more than 370 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. IIMP also includes retrospective coverage from over 185 periodicals dating back as far as 1874. IIMP covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Includes indexing to non-English language publications.
1874 to present |

-
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

Provides citations and abstracts to articles, dissertations and books on music. Includes some non-English language material.
1967 to present |

-
Music Index Online

Online index to over 700 music magazines and journals covering classical and popular music.
1979 to present |

-
Naxos Music Library

Search for, browse among and listen to classical, jazz and other musical recordings.
Does not apply | All recordings available in full
-
Classical Music Library

Primarily classical online streaming music. Browse or search by composer, artist, instrument, category, etc.
Does not apply | All recordings available in full
-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material.
1926 to present |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
Music-in-Print

An online source for locating specific works of individual composers. This online version of the Music-In-Print has volumes on Sacred Choral, Classical Vocal, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, and Piano Music In Print. Includes non-English language material.
Current information |

-
PsycINFO

Provides citations and abstracts to articles, book chapters and books on subjects relating to psychology. Also provides citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material.
1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books |

-
ERIC
Dissertations, theses, articles and other documents about education. Some non-English material.
1966 to present |

-
ABI/Inform Global

Provides citations to articles (some full text and Adobe Acrobat PDF) on business, international business, marketing, management, finance and related areas.
1970 to present |

-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
Pollstar
News, columns, charts, boxoffice, tour & concert bookings, and more information on the music industry. Login by reference librarian required. Please come to the front desk for assistance with electronic version, or find the print version in music current periodicals section on the library first floor.
Varies, archives from 2000 |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
IPA Source

Collection of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Does not apply |

-
Smithsonian Global Sound
Streaming audio of folk music recordings from around the world.
Dates not given |

-
American Song

Musical and spoken recordings from America's history from the late nineteenth century to the Civil Rights era
Late 1800s to about 1960 |

-
Contemporary World Music

Respository of folk and popular music from around the globe. Includes liner notes.
Dates not given |

-
Jazz Music Library

Streaming jazz recordings.
Dates not given | All recordings available in full
