Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Richard Snow
- 504-864-7195
- snow@loyno.edu
Richard is available to answer your questions about library research in Modern Foreign Languages.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Modern Foreign Languages + Cultures
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material.
1926 to present |

-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
Fuente Academica

Spanish-language scholarly articles from 200 Latin American and Spanish-language journals.
Varies |

Dictionaries & Translation Services
-
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Bilingual dictionaries for English to and from Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish. Includes audio pronunciation from native speakers, usage examples and phrases, grammar, verb tables, pronunciation charts, spelling and punctuation assistance, correspondence templates with sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes in life and culture and idiomatic usage.
Updated biannually |

-
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Search for entries in many Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference books, including foreign language dictionaries.
Dates vary |

-
Yahoo's Dictionaries by Language