Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Brian Sullivan
- 504-864-7129
- sullivan@loyno.edu
Brian is available to answer your questions about library research for LIM.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Ministry
To find information on Catholicism, use the New Catholic Encyclopedia and Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. ATLA, ProQuest Religion, Religion and Philosophy Collection, and ProjectMuse are excellent resources for theological research. If you need religious images, search ARTstor. Information on ethics is available in most of the databases below, and the databases listed under Philosophy may also be helpful.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal and church documents, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
1988 to present |

-
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)

Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
1949 to present |

-
Religious Periodicals

Search magazines and scholarly journals on religion.
1986 to present |

-
New Catholic Encyclopedia

The full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
2003 |

-
Unbound Bible

A collection of ten English-language Bibles, as well as Greek, Hebrew, and other languages. Also includes some reference tools, like a Bible dictionary and a commentary.
Does not apply |

-
PsycINFO

Provides citations and abstracts to articles, book chapters and books on subjects relating to psychology. Also provides citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material.
1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books |

-