Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Trish Nugent
- 504-864-7092
- panugent@loyno.edu
Trish is available to answer your questions about library research in Medieval Studies.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Medieval Studies
The databases below are ones we recommend for Medieval Studies. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Medieval Studies, search the library's catalog.
-
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A multilingual listing of over 330,000 articles and other publications on the Middle Ages. Updated quarterly.
To enter, click Enter databases, then click GO next to International Medieval Bibliography. Note: When finished, use the Exit link. We have a limited number of simultaneous users.Founded 1967 |

-
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues) pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Journals from 1842 to present, book essays 1993 to present |

-
World History Collection

A collection of magazines and journals on world history.
Varies, some as early as 1964 |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
A searchable index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI.
1992 to present |

-
Royal Historical Society Bibliography

A searchable listing of writing about British, Irish, and commonwealth history covering Roman times to the present.
1900 to present |

-
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

"The Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web."
Does not apply |
