Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Malia Willey
- 504-864-7138
- mewilley@loyno.edu
Malia is available to answer your questions about library research in History.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
History
Academic Search Complete is the best general database for all subjects in history, offering citations and some full text articles. America: History and Life is a citation-only database that points toward articles in either electronic or print format. Iter performs the same function for journal articles on the medieval and renaissance periods. Project Muse and JSTOR offer full electronic access to an impressive list of journals.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
America: History and Life

Citations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
1964 to present |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
History Reference Center

Articles on history from over reference books, encyclopedias and other books, history magazines, historical documents, biographies, and historical photographs and maps.
Varies |

-
World History Collection

A collection of magazines and journals on world history.
Varies, some as early as 1964 |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
HarpWeek

Browsable and searchable full text and images of the magazine Harper's Weekly.
1857 to 1877 |

-
Making of America
Full text of books and journals published in the U.S. from the antebellum period through reconstruction (The Cornell and Michigan sites are different).
Years vary |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
A searchable index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI.
1992 to present |

-
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A multilingual listing of over 330,000 articles and other publications on the Middle Ages. Updated quarterly.
To enter, click Enter databases, then click GO next to International Medieval Bibliography. Note: When finished, use the Exit link. We have a limited number of simultaneous users.Founded 1967 |

-
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues) pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Journals from 1842 to present, book essays 1993 to present |

-
Royal Historical Society Bibliography

A searchable listing of writing about British, Irish, and commonwealth history covering Roman times to the present.
1900 to present |

-
Readers Guide Retrospective

Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics.
1890 to 1982 |

-
The New York Times (Historical)

Article and page images of every issue of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 through 2005.
1851 to 2005 |
