Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Teri Gallaway
- 504-864-7838
- gallaway@loyno.edu
- Chat with Teri
Teri is available to answer your questions about library research in Environmental Studies.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Environmental Studies
The databases below are ones we recommend for Environmental Studies. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Environmental Studies, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 5300. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Environment Index

Locate articles on environmental issues and policy in over 1000 international journals.
Varies, 1950s to present |

-
GreenFILE

Locate general interest, research, and government publications about human impact on the environment.
Dates of coverage not given |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
GeoRef

Find scholarly articles, meeting papers, maps, theses, dissertations and books in geoscience; some non-English-language material.
Covers North America since 1785; other areas of the world since 1933 |

-
Columbia Earthscape

An interdisciplinary resource on earth and environmental sciences and their economic, political, social, and public policy dimensions. [Note: This product will be discontinued June 30, 2009.]
Dates vary |

-
AGRICOLA

Search for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, and agriculture.
1979 to present |

-
Annual Reviews

Full text of outstanding review articles in the sciences and social sciences.
1996 to present |

-
BioOne1 (direct)
or BioOne1 (through CSA) 
Provides the full text of high impact, peer-reviewed English-language bioscience journals and bulletins published by societies and non-commercial publishers.
2000 to present |

-
Biological Abstracts

Search international biological science journals.
1984 to present |

-
CQ Researcher

Explores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology.
1991 to present |

-
SocINDEX with Full Text

Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles.
Varies, some as early as 1895 |
