Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Trish Nugent
- 504-864-7092
- panugent@loyno.edu
Trish is available to answer your questions about library research in English & Literature.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
English/Literature
The databases below are ones we recommend for English/Literature. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on English/Literature, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 5300. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Literary Reference Center

Research authors of literature and their works in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels.
Varies |

-
MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records with abstracts related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material.
1926 to present |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Literature Resource Center

Full text and citations to magazine and journal articles on authors, literature, literary movements, etc.
Dates not given |

-
Scribner Writers Series

Provides articles on more than 1600 authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.
Dates vary |

-
Twaynes Author Series

Full text books on literary authors, browsable by author name, genre, gender, time period and nationality.
Dates vary |

-
Digital Scriptorium
Images of mediaeval and renaissance manuscripts.
Dates vary |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
Choice Reviews Online

Reviews of academic books, electronic resources and Internet sites. Also subject essays with recommended books.
1987 to present |
