Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Mary Lee Sweat
- 504-864-7047
- sweat@loyno.edu
Mary Lee is available to answer your questions about library research in Education.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Education
The databases below are ones we recommend for education. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find articles on music education try the music databases page. To find articles on educational psychology, go to psychology databases page. For articles on the sociological aspects of education, try the sociology databases page. To find books on education, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
ERIC
Dissertations, theses, articles and other documents about education. Some non-English material.
1966 to present |

-
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided.
1989 to present |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Professional Development Collection

Nearly 550 professional education journals and many reports.
Varies, some as early as 1965 |

-
Chronicle of Higher Education

Full text of the prestegious weekly news magazine of higher education.
1995 to present |

-
SPORTDiscus

A multi-language index to magazines, journals, some books and theses and dissertations on sport and fitness.
Varies, some as early as 1800 |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
Research Starters - Education

Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts..
Updated |

-
Learning Express Library

Practice tests and ebooks for improving performance on academic and professional tests. Includes practice exams for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and TOEFL. Also mathematics, reading, and other skill improvement tutorials. Requires registration.
Current |

-
CollegeSource Online

20,840 college catalogs in cover-to-cover, original page format, plus career, counseling, and financial aid resources. Includes international schools, sometimes with no English translation.
1995 to present |
