Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Teri Gallaway
- 504-864-7838
- gallaway@loyno.edu
- Chat with Teri
Teri is available to answer your questions about library research in Criminal Justice.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Criminal Justice
The databases below are ones we recommend for Criminal Justice. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Criminal Justice, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Criminal Justice Abstracts

Provides coverage of major English-language criminology journals and books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. A summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided.
1968 to present |

-
Criminal Justice Periodicals

Periodical literature for criminal justice from 1986 to present.
1986 to present |

-
ERIC
Dissertations, theses, articles and other documents about education. Some non-English material.
1966 to present |

-
SocINDEX with Full Text

Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles.
Varies, some as early as 1895 |

-
-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
HeinOnline

Browse and search for articles in law reviews, criminal justice periodicals, the Federal Register, federal legislative history, presidential publications, US statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. (Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.)
Dates vary |

-
National Criminal Justice Reference System
(NCJRS)Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, crime prevention, criminology, drugs and crime, juveniles, law enforcement, statistics, technology, and victims of crime. Agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research are unique parts of the collection. Many documents are from State and local government or international sources as well as from the book and journal literature. Documents must either be written in English or have an English-language summary.
Dates vary |
