Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Susan Brower
- 504-864-7112
- brower@loyno.edu
Susan is available to answer your questions about library research in Mass Communication.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Mass Communication
The databases below are ones we recommend for Mass Communication. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Mass Communication, search the library's catalog. This handout contains useful links to web resources in communications.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
ComAbstracts

Abstracts of English-language articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. (Requires free DjVu browser plug-in)
Dates vary, mostly mid-1980s to present |

-
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Merged CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Mostly magazines and journals with some encyclopedia and handbook entries.
Dates vary, includes current publications |

-
ComIndex
Available only on one computer in the Reference area. Ask a librarian for help or more information.
Dates vary |

-
MRI+
(MediaMark online)MRI+ is the online version of MediaMark Reports, the business demographic information service. Note: You must create an account using your Loyola e-mail and any password before using. Upper and lower case are different, so please remember which you use. Works with Firefox 2+, Internet Explorer 6+, Safari 2+, Opera 9+, and Netscape 7+.
1963 to present |

-
ERIC
Dissertations, theses, articles and other documents about education. Some non-English material.
1966 to present |

-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
Hospitality & Tourism Index

Industry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines.
Varies, some as far back as 1950 to present |

-
Newspaper Source

Selected full text of 30 national and international newspapers, over 200 regional U.S. papers, and television and radio news transcripts, updated daily. Does not include the New Orleans Times-Picayune.
Dates not given |

-
Readers Guide Retrospective

Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics.
1890 to 1982 |

-
The Los Angeles Times

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1985 to present |

-
The Times-Picayune [New Orleans]

Search the daily newspaper. Note: full text is no longer available here. Go to LexisNexis Academic for full text articles.
1992 to present |

-
The New York Times

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1980 to present |

-
The New York Times (Historical)

Article and page images of every issue of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 through 2005.
1851 to 2005 |

-
The Washington Post

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1987 to present |

-
The Wall Street Journal

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1984 to present |

-
Local Market Audience Analyst

The online equivalent of the Lifestyle Market Planner, with marketing and demographic data.
Note: Use the "Click here to access SRDS services" link in the middle of the page. Then select the service at the top of the list. Use Internet Explorer browser.Current |

-
Business Source Complete

Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports.
Varies, as early as 1886 to present |
