Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Laurie Phillips
- 504-864-7833
- phillips@loyno.edu
- Chat with Laurie
Laurie is available to answer your questions about library research in Classics.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Classical Languages & Cultures
The databases below are ones we recommend for Classical Languages & Cultures. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Classical Languages & Cultures, search the library's catalog.
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

Literary texts in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
Homer to AD 1453 |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
Diotima
This free web-based database provides access to a variety of materials on the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
Dates vary |

-
Nestor
Free bibliography of Aegean prehistory and related areas. |

-
Perseus Digital Library
Full text of Latin and Greek texts from Aeschines to Xenophon, numerous secondary sources (English translations, dictionaries, grammars and commentaries) and images from museums. Also material from the English Renaissance, and selected U.S. historical materials.
Classical to early modern |
