Search + Find

Databases by Subject

Librarian Liaison Information
Jim Hobbs

Jim is available to answer your questions about library research in Chemistry.

Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
  • = mostly/all full text available
  • = some full text available
  • = no full text available
  • = click for more information

Databases not working?

Links are currently: PROXIED

Databases By Title

A B C D E F G H I
J K L M N O P Q R
S T U V W X Y Z

Chemistry

The most comprehensive chemistry research tool is SciFinder Scholar, which is not available through a web browser. It is separate software, available on many campus public computers. In these databases you'll find scholarly research and popular articles on the chemical sciences from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some provide the full text of articles and others provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on chemistry, search the library's catalog. You may also want to visit the lists for physics, the biological sciences, and mathematics.

  • Academic Search Complete

    Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.

    Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present | some full text

  • American Chemical Society journals

    Searchable full text of most ACS journals.
    Note: downloading large amounts of material will result in loss of use for this product for the entire university.

    All years for journals included | all/mostly full text

  • BioOne1

    Provides the full text of high impact, peer-reviewed English-language bioscience journals and bulletins published by societies and non-commercial publishers.

    2000 to present | all/mostly full text

  • Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

    Reference data for chemistry, physics and other sciences. From latest print edition.

    Current information | all/mostly full text

  • Nature

    Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal from its beginning to the present day.

    1869 to present | all/mostly full text

  • Science

    Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal.

    Jan. 3, 1997 (vol. 275, no. 5296) to present | all/mostly full text

  • Science and Technology Collection

    Indexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for 800.

    Dates not given | some full text

  • ScienceDirect College Edition

    Recent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals.

    1995 to present | all/mostly full text

  • SciFinder Scholar

    Search the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page.)

    1962 to present | some full text

  • Springer e-books

    A collection of full-text science, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, engineering, and technology electronic books published by Springer during 2006, 2007, and 2008. Look for the green book symbol for those we can use. Note: if you search "Within All Content" you will encounter numerous journals that we do not receive.

    2006 to 2008 | all/mostly full text

  • Web of Knowledge (also known as the Web of Science)

    Multidisciplinary index to scholarly journals in the sciences. Citation searching available. Please click Log out button in the upper right when finished.

    1992 to present | no full text