Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Deborah Poole
- 504-864-7133
- poole@loyno.edu
- Chat with Deb
Deb is available to answer your questions about library research in Business.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Business
The databases below are ones we recommend for Business. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on Business, search the library's catalog.
-
ABI/Inform Global

Provides citations to articles (some full text and Adobe Acrobat PDF) on business, international business, marketing, management, finance and related areas.
1970 to present |

-
Business Source Complete

Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports.
Varies, as early as 1886 to present |

-
Business Insights

Searchable full text of market analysis reports.
Dates vary |

-
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Provides articles, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and books on international relations, mostly 1990s to present.
Dates vary, mostly 1990s |

-
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Merged CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Mostly magazines and journals with some encyclopedia and handbook entries.
Dates vary, includes current publications |

-
Economia y Negocios

Spanish-language database of business and economics journals.
1980s to present |

-
EconLit

Journals, books, and working papers on economics. Some non-English material.
1969 to present |

-
Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles, meeting papers, and books. Look for the Get it! button for links to full text and other services.
Dates not disclosed |

-
Hoover’s Company Records

Provides brief private and publicly-held company profiles with short financial info and top competitors.
Dates vary |

-
Hospitality & Tourism Index

Industry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines.
Varies, some as far back as 1950 to present |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
Local Market Audience Analyst

The online equivalent of the Lifestyle Market Planner, with marketing and demographic data.
Note: Use the "Click here to access SRDS services" link in the middle of the page. Then select the service at the top of the list. Use Internet Explorer browser.Current |

-
Mergent Online

Text and financial data on U.S. and international publicly-held companies, also country profiles; search by company name or ticker symbol. Note: We can only have three users on at a time; please click Log Out when you are finished (upper right corner).
Current information |

-
MRI+
(MediaMark online)MRI+ is the online version of MediaMark Reports, the business demographic information service. Note: You must create an account using your Loyola e-mail and any password before using. Upper and lower case are different, so please remember which you use. Works with Firefox 2+, Internet Explorer 6+, Safari 2+, Opera 9+, and Netscape 7+.
1963 to present |

-
Pollstar
News, columns, charts, boxoffice, tour & concert bookings, and more information on the music industry. Login by reference librarian required. Please come to the front desk for assistance with electronic version, or find the print version in music current periodicals section on the library first floor.
Varies, archives from 2000 |

-
Regional Business News

Full text articles from 75 business publications from around the country. Includes New Orleans CityBusiness. Updated daily.
Dates vary, mostly mid-1990s to present |

-
Research Starters - Business

Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.
Updated |

- Reuters Business Insights is now Business Insights
-
STAT-USA

Economic, business, and international trade information produced by the U.S. Government.
Current information |

-
ValueLine Research Center

The ValueLine Research Center has independent financial and investment-related information on publicly-held companies, mutual funds, options and other securities and industries in the United States. ValueLine Research Center contains ValueLine Investment Survey data, company profiles include ratios, ratings, ValueLine rankings, earnings projections, company stock performance charts, income statement information, and industry commentary.
Recent past to five years ahead |

-
Vente et Gestion

Search for French-language business and related articles. Formerly known as French Business Source.
Varies |

-
The Wall Street Journal

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1984 to present |

-
Women Working, 1870 - 1930

"This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. . . The collection will contain more than 2,200 books and pamphlets, 1,000 photographs and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections."
1870-1930 |
