Search + Find
Databases by Subject
Librarian Liaison Information
Jim Hobbs
- 504-864-7126
- hobbs@loyno.edu
- Chat with Jim
Jim is available to answer your questions about library research in Biological Sciences.
Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
- = mostly/all full text available
- = some full text available
- = no full text available
- = click for more information
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
Biological Sciences
In these databases you'll find scholarly research and popular articles on the biological sciences from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some provide the full text of articles and others provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on biology, search the library's catalog. You may also want to visit the lists for chemistry, mathematics, and physics
-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
AGRICOLA

Search for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, and agriculture.
1979 to present |

-
Annual Reviews

Full text of outstanding review articles in the sciences and social sciences.
1996 to present |

-
BioMed Central

Online publisher of free peer-reviewed scientific articles in all areas of medical research and biology. Registration required.
Dates not disclosed |

-
BioOne1
Provides the full text of high impact, peer-reviewed English-language bioscience journals and bulletins published by societies and non-commercial publishers.
2000 to present |

-
Biological Abstracts

Search international biological science journals.
1984 to present |

-
Encyclopedia of Life
Free encyclopedia of organisms, with general and scientific information on taxonomy, distribution, genetics, evolutionary history, and more.
Current |

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

-
MEDLINE
Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material.
The Monroe Library offers two different versions of the MEDLINE service. Both contain the same information but differ in search functions.
-
MEDLINE (from EBSCOhost)

1966 to present |

-
PubMed

PubMed is a free public service of the National Library of Medicine. Use this link to add Get it!.
1966 to present |

-
-
Medline journal abbreviation decoder (a Medline tool)
Medline/PubMed displays journal names in an abbreviated form. Search the abbreviation on this page to find the complete journal title. Note: This is not an index to journal articles.
-
Nature

Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal from its beginning to the present day.
1869 to present |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
Science

Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal.
Jan. 3, 1997 (vol. 275, no. 5296) to present |

-
Science and Technology Collection

Indexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for 800.
Dates not given |

-
ScienceDirect College Edition

Recent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals.
1995 to present |

-
SciFinder Scholar
Search the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page.)
1962 to present |

-
Springer e-books

A collection of full-text science, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, engineering, and technology electronic books published by Springer during 2006, 2007, and 2008. Look for the green book symbol for those we can use. Note: if you search "Within All Content" you will encounter numerous journals that we do not receive.
2006 to 2008 |

-
Web of Knowledge (also known as the Web of Science)

Multidisciplinary index to scholarly journals in the sciences. Citation searching available. Please click Log out button in the upper right when finished.
1992 to present |
