Search + Find
A - Z List of Databases
Databases Toolbox
Databases not working?
Links are currently: PROXIED
A
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
ABI/Inform Global

Provides citations to articles (some full text and Adobe Acrobat PDF) on business, international business, marketing, management, finance and related areas.
1970 to present |

-
Academic Search Complete

Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present |

-
AgeLine

Search for journal articles and books on the subject of aging and middle-aged and older adults, particularly addressing the social, psychological, economic, policy, and health care aspects of aging. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP).
Dates not disclosed |

-
AGRICOLA

Search for journal articles and books in botany, plant science, and agriculture.
1979 to present |

-
Alt HealthWatch

Lists articles on non-traditional medical theories and therapies, such as complementary, holistic and integrated approaches.
1990 to present |

-
America: History and Life

Citations to articles, books, and dissertations on U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
1964 to present |

-
American Chemical Society journals

Searchable full text of most ACS journals.
Note: downloading large amounts of material will result in loss of use for this product for the entire university.All years for journals included |

-
American FactFinder
U.S. Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic and geographic data and maps from the 2000 U.S. census of individuals.
2000 |

-
American Song

Musical and spoken recordings from America's history from the late nineteenth century to the Civil Rights era
Late 1800s to about 1960 |

-
Annual Reviews

Full text of outstanding review articles in the sciences and social sciences.
1996 to present |

-
Art Abstracts

Locate information on visual arts and crafts, photography, archaeology, architecture, art history, and related areas in magazines and journals.
September 1984 to present |

-
ARTstor

A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.
Prehistory to 20th century |
(full image) -
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (ATLAS)

Find scholarly and non-scholarly journal and magazine articles on religion.
1949 to present |

B
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Bayou State Periodical Index

Covers popular magazines about Louisiana in all subject areas.
1985 to 2008 |

-
Biography Resource Center

Locate full-text biographies from reference books, citations to magazine and journal articles, and selected web sites.
Dates vary |

-
BioMed Central

Online publisher of free peer-reviewed scientific articles in all areas of medical research and biology. Registration required.
Dates not disclosed |

-
BioOne1
Provides the full text of high impact, peer-reviewed English-language bioscience journals and bulletins published by societies and non-commercial publishers.
2000 to present |

-
Biological Abstracts

Search international biological science journals.
1984 to present |

-
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Search and browse a multi-volume sociology encyclopedia.
Current material (updated three times a year) |

-
Book Collection: Nonfiction

Full text of over 3500 nonfiction books aimed at school and public library users.
Varies |

-
Book Index with Reviews

Locate information on, or browse descriptions of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books.
Current information only |

-
Business Insights

Searchable full text of market analysis reports.
Dates vary |

-
Business Source Complete

Find articles about business in magazines, newspapers and journals, author profiles, and country economic reports.
Varies, as early as 1886 to present |

C
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA)

Provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, papers, proceedings, reports, and other scholarly information in: BioOne1 and Criminal Justice Abstracts.
Dates vary from database to database |

-
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

"The Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts offers a simple and straightforward means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web."
Does not apply |

-
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

Search and retrieval service that links to Federal agency online resources or identifies government publications distributed to Federal Depository Libraries. As some government documents are printed in various languages, some non-English language materials may be represented in the catalog.
1994 to present |

-
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index

Citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal and church documents, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers.
1988 to present |

-
Choice Reviews Online

Reviews of academic books, electronic resources and Internet sites. Also subject essays with recommended books.
1987 to present |

-
Chronicle of Higher Education

Full text of the prestegious weekly news magazine of higher education.
1995 to present |

-
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)

Provides articles, conference proceedings, policy briefs, and books on international relations, mostly 1990s to present.
Dates vary, mostly 1990s |

-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides citations to most English-language nursing journals, publications from the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and journals from allied health disciplines. Also covers consumer health, health sciences librarianship, chiropractic, and health services administration literature.
1982 to present |

-
Classical Music Library

Primarily classical online streaming music. Browse or search by composer, artist, instrument, category, etc.
Does not apply | All recordings available in full
-
CollegeSource Online

20,840 college catalogs in cover-to-cover, original page format, plus career, counseling, and financial aid resources. Includes international schools, sometimes with no English translation.
1995 to present |

-
Columbia Earthscape

An interdisciplinary resource on earth and environmental sciences and their economic, political, social, and public policy dimensions. [Note: This product will be discontinued June 30, 2009.]
Dates vary |

-
ComAbstracts

Abstracts of English-language articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. (Requires free DjVu browser plug-in)
Dates vary, mostly mid-1980s to present |

-
ComIndex
Available only on one computer in the Reference area. Ask a librarian for help or more information.
Dates vary |

-
Communication & Mass Media Complete

Merged CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Mostly magazines and journals with some encyclopedia and handbook entries.
Dates vary, includes current publications |

-
Computer Science Index

Search professional magazines, scholarly journals, and some books in computer science.
Mid 1960s to present |

-
Computer Source

Search popular and scholarly journals in fields such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Varies, some as far back as 1985 to present |

-
Contemporary World Music

Respository of folk and popular music from around the globe. Includes liner notes.
Dates not given |

-
CQ Researcher

Explores a single controversial issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to the environment, health, education and science and technology.
1991 to present |

-
Criminal Justice Abstracts

Provides coverage of major English-language criminology journals and books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. A summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided.
1968 to present |

-
Criminal Justice Periodicals

Periodical literature for criminal justice from 1986 to present.
1986 to present |

D
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Digital Sanborn Maps

Images of street maps from selected Louisiana cities.
1867 to 1970 |

-
Dissertation Abstracts Online

Citations to all U.S. doctoral dissertations and some masters theses on all topics from 1861 to present. Abstracts can be found for dissertations since 1980.
1861 to present |

-
Diotima
This free web-based database provides access to a variety of materials on the study of women and gender in the ancient world.
Dates vary |

-
Duke University Press Journals Online

Browse and search among electronic journals in the humanities and social sciences from Duke University Press.
2000 to present |

E
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Earthscape -- see Columbia Earthscape.
-
EBSCOhost databases

A collection of databases in many different subject areas with much full-text.
Dates vary |

-
EconLit

Journals, books, and working papers on economics. Some non-English material.
1969 to present |

-
Economia y Negocios

Spanish-language database of business and economics journals.
1980s to present |

-
Electronic Journal Service (EBSCO)

Provides full-text electronic articles (some full-text & full-content, eg. Adobe Acrobat PDF) on humanities, science, and social science for the past few years.
Dates vary |

-
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Full-text encyclopedia devoted to social activism.
Published 2007 |

-
Encyclopedia of Life
Free encyclopedia of organisms, with general and scientific information on taxonomy, distribution, genetics, evolutionary history, and more.
Current |

-
Environment Index

Locate articles on environmental issues and policy in over 1000 international journals.
Varies, 1950s to present |

-
ERIC
Dissertations, theses, articles and other documents about education. Some non-English material.
1966 to present |

F
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
A searchable index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI.
1992 to present |

-
Film Literature Index

Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. Produced by Indiana University.
1976-2001 |

-
Fuente Academica

Spanish-language scholarly articles from 200 Latin American and Spanish-language journals.
Varies |

-
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

A general-interest encyclopedia with over 25,000 articles on all subjects, some biographical information.
Updated annually |

G
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of over 140 reference books (over 550 volumes) in all subject areas.
1990 to 2009 |

-
GeoRef

Find scholarly articles, meeting papers, maps, theses, dissertations and books in geoscience; some non-English-language material.
Covers North America since 1785; other areas of the world since 1933 |

-
Google Scholar

Find scholarly articles, meeting papers, and books. Look for the Get it! button for links to full text and other services.
Dates not disclosed |

-
GreenFILE

Locate general interest, research, and government publications about human impact on the environment.
Dates of coverage not given |

- Grove Art is now Oxford Art Online
- Grove Music is now Oxford Music Online
H
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Reference data for chemistry, physics and other sciences. From latest print edition.
Current information |

-
HAPI Online

Hispanic American Periodicals Index online, with citations to journal articles, book reviews, documents, covering the politics, history, economics, society, arts and literature of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States; also searchable in Spanish and Portuguese; some non-English-language material.
1970 to present |

-
HarpWeek

Browsable and searchable full text and images of the magazine Harper's Weekly.
1857 to 1877 |

-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

Find articles on nursing, nutrition, and other medical topics in almost 850 magazines and journals, with full text for nearly 600. Also a database of all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs Updated daily.
Dates vary, some as far back as 1975 to present |

-
HeinOnline

Browse and search for articles in law reviews, criminal justice periodicals, the Federal Register, federal legislative history, presidential publications, US statutes, and Supreme Court decisions. (Adobe Acrobat (PDF) format.)
Dates vary |

-
History Reference Center

Articles on history from over reference books, encyclopedias and other books, history magazines, historical documents, biographies, and historical photographs and maps.
Varies |

-
Hoover’s Company Records

Provides brief private and publicly-held company profiles with short financial info and top competitors.
Dates vary |

-
Hospitality & Tourism Index

Industry and scholarly articles on the tourism and hospitality industries from more than 500 journals and magazines.
Varies, some as far back as 1950 to present |

I
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)

Provides data sets and their code books for political and social science research. Raw data only; you must know SPSS or other statistics software to use.
Dates vary | Numeric data and code books
-
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

Articles on law from law journals and reviews and other sources.
Indexing 1981 to present, full text access to some items published after 1995 |

-
Information Science & Technology Abstracts (ISTA)

Covers more than 450 information science journals, books, research reports and other publications.
Varies, some as far back as 1960 to present |

-
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP FT)

Indexes more than 370 international music periodicals from over 20 countries. IIMP also includes retrospective coverage from over 185 periodicals dating back as far as 1874. IIMP covers nearly all aspects of the world of music, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Includes indexing to non-English language publications.
1874 to present |

-
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Online
A multilingual listing of over 330,000 articles and other publications on the Middle Ages. Updated quarterly.
To enter, click Enter databases, then click GO next to International Medieval Bibliography. Note: When finished, use the Exit link. We have a limited number of simultaneous users.Founded 1967 |

-
International Political Science Abstracts

Search for articles in leading international political science journals.
1951 to present |

-
Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts

Indexes magazines and journals on the internet and personal computing in the home and business.
Varies, 1980s to present |

-
IPA Source

Collection of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Does not apply |

-
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues) pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Journals from 1842 to present, book essays 1993 to present |

J
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Jazz Music Library

Streaming jazz recordings.
Dates not given | All recordings available in full

-
JSTOR

Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.
Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago |

K
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
We currently have no titles beginning with this letter.
L
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Learning Express Library

Practice tests and ebooks for improving performance on academic and professional tests. Includes practice exams for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and TOEFL. Also mathematics, reading, and other skill improvement tutorials. Requires registration.
Current |

-
Legal Collection

Search for articles in scholarly law journals.
Varies, as far back as 1965 to present |

-
Lexi-PALS Drug Guide

Patient Advisory Leaflets on a variety of medications and natural products. Also Spanish versions.
Current |

-
LexisNexis Academic

A large database that provides access to full-text articles and documents that span a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Includes some non-English titles.
Coverage generally begins in the mid-1980s |

-
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Full Text

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA indexes journal articles from more than 600 publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings.
1966 to present |

-
Literary Reference Center

Research authors of literature and their works in scholarly journals, books, and encyclopedias. Includes literary criticism, plot summaries, author biographies, book reviews, full text poems, short stories, and classic novels.
Varies |

-
Literature Resource Center

Full text and citations to magazine and journal articles on authors, literature, literary movements, etc.
Dates not given |

-
Local Market Audience Analyst

The online equivalent of the Lifestyle Market Planner, with marketing and demographic data.
Note: Use the "Click here to access SRDS services" link in the middle of the page. Then select the service at the top of the list. Use Internet Explorer browser.Current |

-
The Los Angeles Times

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1985 to present |

M
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
MAS Ultra (School edition)

Searchable full text of about 500 high school level magazines and journals, pamphlets and reference books. Includes images like maps and flags.
Dates vary, 1975 to present for some titles |

-
MathSciNet

Provides bibliographical access to the world's mathematical literature. Includes some non-English language material.
1940 to present |

-
MedicLatina

Over 100 Spanish-language medical journals.
Varies |

-
MEDLINE
Contains bibliographic information covering anatomy, diseases, chemicals and drugs, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and health care. MEDLINE contains all records published in Index Medicus and corresponds in part to the International Nursing Index. Includes some non-English language material.
The Monroe Library offers two different versions of the MEDLINE service. Both contain the same information but differ in search functions.
-
MEDLINE (from EBSCOhost)

1966 to present |

-
PubMed

PubMed is a free public service of the National Library of Medicine. Use this link to add Get it!.
1966 to present |

-
-
Medline journal abbreviation decoder (a Medline tool)
Medline/PubMed displays journal names in an abbreviated form. Search the abbreviation on this page to find the complete journal title. Note: This is not an index to journal articles.
-
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks. This contains data from 1989 to present, beginning with Yearbook 9. Note: text of the actual test is not provided.
1989 to present |

-
Mergent Online

Text and financial data on U.S. and international publicly-held companies, also country profiles; search by company name or ticker symbol. Note: We can only have three users on at a time; please click Log Out when you are finished (upper right corner).
Current information |

-
Military & Government Online

Search for full text articles in about 300 magazines and journals and 245 pamphlets about the government and military.
Dates vary, most mid 1990s to present |

-
MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of citations related to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in nearly 4,000 scholarly journals, books, book chapters, and other formats. Includes some non-English language material.
1926 to present |

-
MRI+
(MediaMark online)MRI+ is the online version of MediaMark Reports, the business demographic information service. Note: You must create an account using your Loyola e-mail and any password before using. Upper and lower case are different, so please remember which you use. Works with Firefox 2+, Internet Explorer 6+, Safari 2+, Opera 9+, and Netscape 7+.
1963 to present |

-
Music-in-Print

An online source for locating specific works of individual composers. This online version of the Music-In-Print has volumes on Sacred Choral, Classical Vocal, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, and Piano Music In Print. Includes non-English language material.
Current information |

-
Music Index Online

Online index to over 700 music magazines and journals covering classical and popular music.
1979 to present |

N
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
National Criminal Justice Reference System
(NCJRS)Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, crime prevention, criminology, drugs and crime, juveniles, law enforcement, statistics, technology, and victims of crime. Agency produced documents and final grant reports of Office of Justice Programs sponsored research are unique parts of the collection. Many documents are from State and local government or international sources as well as from the book and journal literature. Documents must either be written in English or have an English-language summary.
Dates vary |

-
Nature

Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal from its beginning to the present day.
1869 to present |

-
Naxos Music Library

Search for, browse among and listen to classical, jazz and other musical recordings.
Does not apply | All recordings available in full
-
netLibrary

A collection of online full-text eBooks (electronic versions of printed books) purchased by the Monroe Library. Like print books, if someone is using a book, you won't be able to open it.
Dates vary |

-
New Catholic Encyclopedia

The full text of the 15-volume 2003 New Catholic Encyclopedia, with articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
2003 |

-
The Times-Picayune [New Orleans]

Search the daily newspaper. Note: full text is no longer available here. Go to LexisNexis Academic for full text articles.
1992 to present |

-
The New York Times

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1980 to present |

-
The New York Times (Historical)

Article and page images of every issue of the New York Times newspaper from 1851 through 2005.
1851 to 2005 |

-
Newspaper Source

Selected full text of 30 national and international newspapers, over 200 regional U.S. papers, and television and radio news transcripts, updated daily. Does not include the New Orleans Times-Picayune.
Dates not given |

O
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
OCLC WorldCat

Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
All dates |

-
Oxford Art Online

Visual art encyclopedia online with over 45,000 articles includes bibliographies and links to many images. Consists of the Grove Dictionary of Art, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art Formerly Grove Art Online.
Updated quarterly |

-
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from international English language sources.
Updated quarterly |

-
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Bilingual dictionaries for English to and from Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish. Includes audio pronunciation from native speakers, usage examples and phrases, grammar, verb tables, pronunciation charts, spelling and punctuation assistance, correspondence templates with sample letters, CVs and resumes, notes in life and culture and idiomatic usage.
Updated biannually |

-
Oxford Music Online

Music encyclopedia with the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, and the Oxford Companion of Music. Formerly Grove Music Online.
Updated quarterly |

-
Oxford Reference Online Premium

Search for entries in many Oxford University Press dictionaries and other reference books, including foreign language dictionaries.
Dates vary |

P
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Philosopher's Index

Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books on philosophy and related fields. Includes some non-English language material.
1940 to present |

-
Pollstar
News, columns, charts, boxoffice, tour & concert bookings, and more information on the music industry. Login by reference librarian required. Please come to the front desk for assistance with electronic version, or find the print version in music current periodicals section on the library first floor.
Varies, archives from 2000 |

-
Primary Search

Searchable full text from more than 60 magazines for elementary-school-aged children with articles listed without text for another 30 titles. Also includes pamphlets and some reference.
Dates vary, 1990s to present |

-
Professional Development Collection

Nearly 550 professional education journals and many reports.
Varies, some as early as 1965 |

-
Project MUSE
Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
1993 to present |

-
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Citations to all U.S. doctoral dissertations and some masters theses on all topics from 1861 to present. Abstracts can be found for dissertations since 1980. (Formerly called Dissertation Abstracts International.)
1861 to present |

-
ProQuest Religion

Search magazines and scholarly journals on religion. (Formerly called Religious Periodicals.)
1986 to present |

-
PsycARTICLES

Full text articles in psychology. PsycARTICLES includes more than 39,000 full-text articles from 53 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
1985 to present |

-
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Search almost 575 professional psychology journals, most peer-reviewed. Nearly all are indexed in PsycINFO.
Varies, some as early as 1965 |

-
PsycINFO

Provides citations and abstracts to articles, book chapters and books on subjects relating to psychology. Also provides citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Includes some non-English language material.
1887 to present for articles; 1987 to present for books |

-
PubMed with Get it!
(Medline)PubMed, a free service of the National Library of Medicine, with 11 million MEDLINE citations and additional life science journals in anatomy, nursing, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, health care and more. Includes some non-English language material. Note: PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
1966 to present |

-
Medline journal abbreviation decoder (a Medline tool)
Medline/PubMed displays journal names in an abbreviated form. Search the abbreviation on this page to find the complete journal title. Note: This is not an index to journal articles.
Q
We currently have no titles beginning with this letter.
R
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Readers Guide Retrospective

Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics.
1890 to 1982 |

-
RefWorks

A web-based citation manager, keeps track of your book, chapter, journal and magazine article and other citations to help write foot and end notes. For off-campus access to RefWorks, call the Learning Commons Desk at 504-864-7111 for the required Group Code.
Does not apply
-
Regional Business News

Full text articles from 75 business publications from around the country. Includes New Orleans CityBusiness. Updated daily.
Dates vary, mostly mid-1990s to present |

-
Religion and Philosophy Collection

This database provides coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.
Varies, as far back as 1975 to present |

-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online

Provides over 2000 articles from leading international experts across the discipline of philosophy. The articles cover a breadth of subject matter, including ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
Updated quarterly |

-
Research Starters - Business

Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts.
Updated |

-
Research Starters - Education

Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts..
Updated |

-
Research Starters - Sociology

Research Starters are study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students. They consist of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts..
Updated |

- Reuters Business Insights is now Business Insights
-
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

Provides citations and abstracts to articles, dissertations and books on music. Includes some non-English language material.
1967 to present |

-
Royal Historical Society Bibliography

A searchable listing of writing about British, Irish, and commonwealth history covering Roman times to the present.
1900 to present |

S
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Sanborn Maps -- see Digital Sanborn Maps.
-
Science

Search and browse for articles in this scientific journal.
Jan. 3, 1997 (vol. 275, no. 5296) to present |

-
ScienceDirect College Edition

Recent full-text articles from many Elsevier journals in science and the social sciences. Not all journals are available. If you browse, look for the small green icon for subscribed journals.
1995 to present |

-
Science and Technology Collection

Indexes over 1700 journals in science and technology with full text for 800.
Dates not given |

-
SciFinder Scholar
Search the worldwide literature of chemistry in the online equivalent of Chemical Abstracts. (User registration required from this page.)
1962 to present |

-
Scribner Writers Series

Provides articles on more than 1600 authors and literary genres drawn from the Scribner print series.
Dates vary |

-
Serials Directory

Descriptions of over 180,000 U.S. and international serials. (Serial is library jargon for anything that appears at regular intervals with no end in sight, like newspapers, magazines, journals, and some book series.)
Current information |

-
Smithsonian Global Sound
Streaming audio of folk music recordings from around the world.
Dates not given |

-
SocINDEX with Full Text

Comprehensive index to sociology, covering 640 core journals, 530 priority, and 1420 selectively-covered journals with many books, conference papers and author profiles.
Varies, some as early as 1895 |

-
SPORTDiscus

A multi-language index to magazines, journals, some books and theses and dissertations on sport and fitness.
Varies, some as early as 1800 |

-
Springer e-books

A collection of full-text science, mathematics, physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, psychology, engineering, and technology electronic books published by Springer during 2006, 2007, and 2008. Look for the green book symbol for those we can use. Note: if you search "Within All Content" you will encounter numerous journals that we do not receive.
2006 to 2008 |

-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An encyclopedia of philosophy maintaned by experts and available to everyone. Not complete.
Current information |

-
STAT-USA

Economic, business, and international trade information produced by the U.S. Government.
Current information |

T
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Theatre in Video
Video of more than 240 full-length theatrical performances. Browse by and search for people, genres, companies, theatres and dates. Flash Player and 400kbps or better connection required.
Dates not given |

-
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

Literary texts in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.
Homer to AD 1453 |

-
Thomas

Thomas is a free service of the Library of Congress. Search Thomas to find legislative and congressional information. It includes bill text, the Congressional Record, committee information, votes, directories and other information. Current and historical information available.
Dates vary |

-
The Times-Picayune [New Orleans]

Search the daily newspaper. Note: full text is no longer available here. Go to LexisNexis Academic for full text articles.
1992 to present |

-
TOXLINE
Look for publications on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
1965 to present |

-
Twaynes Author Series

Full text books on literary authors, browsable by author name, genre, gender, time period and nationality.
Dates vary |

-
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Full text of over 1300 plays by over 200 playwrights. Search by author, character, productions, companies, years, subjects, and more. < /br>
1900 - 1999 |

U
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
Unbound Bible

A collection of ten English-language Bibles, as well as Greek, Hebrew, and other languages. Also includes some reference tools, like a Bible dictionary and a commentary.
Does not apply |

-
U.S. Census Bureau

Text, maps and statistical information on the U.S. population of people and businesses.
Varies |

-
UN Secretary-General's Database on Violence Against Women

"[A] coordinated database on the extent, nature and consequences of all forms of violence against women, and on the impact and effectiveness of policies and programmes for, including best practices in, combating such violence.."
Dates vary |

V
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
ValueLine Research Center

The ValueLine Research Center has independent financial and investment-related information on publicly-held companies, mutual funds, options and other securities and industries in the United States. ValueLine Research Center contains ValueLine Investment Survey data, company profiles include ratios, ratings, ValueLine rankings, earnings projections, company stock performance charts, income statement information, and industry commentary.
Recent past to five years ahead |

-
Vente et Gestion

Search for French-language business and related articles. Formerly known as French Business Source.
Varies |

W
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
-
The Wall Street Journal

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1984 to present |

-
The Washington Post

Searchable full text of the daily newspaper.
1987 to present |

-
Web of Knowledge (also known as the Web of Science)

Multidisciplinary index to scholarly journals in the sciences. Citation searching available. Please click Log out button in the upper right when finished.
1992 to present |

-
Women Working, 1870 - 1930

"This collection explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. . . The collection will contain more than 2,200 books and pamphlets, 1,000 photographs and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections."
1870-1930 |

-
World Book

The full text of the World Book encyclopedia. Includes a dictionary, an atlas and special features, like Explore Louisiana. Links at the bottom of the page to World Book Discover (for secondary school students), Online Reference Center, World Book Kids, and the Spanish and French World Books.
Current |

-
OCLC WorldCat

Catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide in OCLC member libraries. (Does not include book chapters or individual articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers.) Includes considerable non-English language material.
All dates |

-
World History Collection

A collection of magazines and journals on world history.
Varies, some as early as 1964 |

XYZ
= all/mostly full text |
= some full text |
= no full text |
= more information
We currently have no titles beginning with these letters.