Search + Find

Databases by Subject

Librarian Liaison Information
Richard Snow

Richard is available to answer your questions about library research in African Studies.

Databases Toolbox
Description of Icons
  • = mostly/all full text available
  • = some full text available
  • = no full text available
  • = click for more information

Databases not working?

Links are currently: PROXIED

Databases By Title

A B C D E F G H I
J K L M N O P Q R
S T U V W X Y Z

African Studies

The databases below are ones we recommend for African Studies. In these databases you'll find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some databases provide the full text of articles and other provide citations only. If only a citation is provided, use the Get it! button to see if the full text is available through another library resource. To find books on African Studies, search the library's catalog.

  • Academic Search Complete

    Find articles in all subject areas in over 9000 journals and magazines, with full text for about 6100. Updated daily.

    Dates vary, some as early as 1865 to present | some full text

  • JSTOR

    Several collections of full-text scholarly journals in many subject areas. We receive these JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV; and Life Sciences. Life Sciences includes the Biological Sciences, and Health & General Sciences. The Language & Literature, and Music Collections are now part of the larger Arts & Sciences III and IV.

    Beginning of each journal to 3, 4 or 5 years ago | all/mostly full text

  • Project MUSE

    Provides full text articles of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, education, political science and gender studies. Coverage dates vary by journal title.

    1993 to present | all/mostly full text

  • World History Collection

    A collection of magazines and journals on world history.

    Varies, some as early as 1964 | all/mostly full text

  • Readers Guide Retrospective

    Explore articles in the popular press (not scholarly journals), reflecting 20th century American culture, society, science, and politics.

    1890 to 1982 | no full text

  • ARTstor

    A digital library of images, associated information, and software tools with over a million images of art, advertising, people and places worldwide.

    Prehistory to 20th century | all/mostly full text (full image)

  • HAPI Online

    Hispanic American Periodicals Index online, with citations to journal articles, book reviews, documents, covering the politics, history, economics, society, arts and literature of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States; also searchable in Spanish and Portuguese; some non-English-language material.

    1970 to present | no full text