Law School Centennial

"Derbies of Dignity!" Law School

Loyola’s College of Law begins celebrating its 100th anniversary this month with a number of events celebrating current students and alumni. Established in 1914, the College of Law was initially at Baronne and Common Streets before moving onto the main campus Uptown, where it remained from 1915-1986 when it moved to its current location on Broadway.

Seton Hall

Seton Hall

Graduates from the College of Law include former mayor Maurice “Moon” Landrieu and his son, the current mayor Mitch Landrieu,

Wolf, 1950, page 73

1950 Wolf Yearbook

Xavier University President Norman Francis,

1955 Wolf, Page 136

1955 Wolf Yearbook

former president of the National Organization for Women (NOW) Kim Gandy,

Wolf 1977, page 76

1977 Wolf Yearbook

and many more distinguished law professionals and politicians.

Special Collections & Archives is rich in resources related to the history of the College of Law, including the personal papers of alumna and former professor (and New Orleans’ first female law professor) Janet Mary Riley.

Wolf 1948, page 72

1948 Wolf Yearbook

To see these items and others like them, check out our digital collections or come see us on the third floor of the Monroe Library.

School of Law

School of Law

Found in the Archives is a recurring series of crazy cool stuff found in the Monroe Library’s Special Collections & Archives.

Leave a Reply